Feeling the Music

Picture this: imagine yourself plugging your headphones into your music device or computer. You could pick a song, any song for that matter. Whatever your heart sees fit, the song will definitely make you feel some type of way (did you catch the Rich Homie Quan reference?). You probably didn’t, and if that’s the case, I’d be glad if you didn’t catch it.

Finally, you pick a song. The opening chords start to play, the beat begins to drop, and the guitar riff starts to pick up. Little does the listener know that he/she is in for a ride that can be described by any adjective: enjoyable, emotional, laughable, etc. Whatever it is, be ready to not only hear the music, but feel it.

Most songs written nowadays or even in the past have touched certain people on a level that only they can describe. If you’ve ever had an emotional experience in your life, the feelings you have can only increase. You might be happy about a life changing event that just occurred, or you might feel sad and depressed because of a loss you’ve had close to you and your family. The music speaks to you; it’s almost a way of showing that you’re not alone. Others, maybe even the writers, have been in the same shoes, walked the same mile, and have journeyed on the same path.

For me, when my dad passed away at a young age, it was one of, if not, the greatest loss I’ve experienced in my life. For years, it was hard to even describe what this even meant to me emotionally and how it affected who I am today. My mom, being the major influence in my musical taste, had a large collection of music ranging from classical orchestras to to even some of today’s country. Being immersed in this world did its work on me; I soon discovered that one of the only ways I can express myself is through music.

Anywhere I go, I have to have some sort of music playing; it’s just what helps me get through the day. I’ll often get a nostalgia moment where I remember a song from a while ago and want to start listening to it again. It helps me move, in a way of speaking. The person I’ve become today is widely due to the music I’ve encountered throughout my life. As odd as it sounds, it’s who I am.

To close out, here’s a song that always reminds me of my dad anytime I listen. Once the opening chords are played, the memories take over and I go back in time. Here’s “Sullivan Street” by Counting Crows:

Leave a Reply

